An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

NEWS | Sept. 9, 2020

Alaska Air National Guardsman takes home regional Airman of the Year award

By Sgt. Seth LaCount Alaska National Guard Public Affairs

Staff Sgt. Kailey Mills, a crew chief assigned to the 176th Aircraft Maintenance Squadron, Alaska Air National Guard, received the regional Airman of the Year Award last week for her accomplishments in 2019.

While still wearing the rank of senior airman, Mills executed 44 major inspections, completed five aircraft modifications, had a 100-percent evaluation pass rate, exceeded maintenance standards and expeditiously responded to a ground emergency to ensure mission capability. She also assisted in the completion of five aircraft modifications exceeding more than 10-million dollars. During a deployment to Al Asad, Iraq, in support of Operation INHERENT RESOLVE, in addition to her crew chief responsibilities, Mills helped refurbish a base gym, which enhanced the safety and quality of life for nearly 200 deployed personnel.

Mills completed her Bachelor of Science in Nursing last year, graduating with cum laude honors the same year she was deployed for four months. She also volunteered to assist in a medical care clinic at a local homeless shelter.

Mills’ influence and high standards at work also extended beyond her military career field. She led 10 flightline tours in 2019 involving more than 120 civilians. These tours resulted in three people joining the Alaska Air National Guard and furthered the 176th Wing’s recruiting goals.

Mills competed against Airmen from the eight states in Region VI and was selected for the award by the Enlisted Field Advisory Council. Chief Master Sgt. Winfield Hinkley Jr., the Alaska National Guard’s senior enlisted leader who sat in on the council for the selection process, described the unanimous decision to select Mills as a “immediate and obvious choice”, after reviewing her exceptional performance in 2019.

Every year, Air National Guardsmen from all 54 states and territories compete to be selected for the U.S. Air Force’s 12 Outstanding Airmen of the Year.

The competition begins at the state level, where members from the two Alaska Air Guard wings compete for awards in four categories: Airman, Noncommissioned Officer, Senior NCO, and First Sergeant of the Year.

State winners from around the country then progress to the regional stage, where they compete in one of seven designated regions. Alaska falls into Region VI Northwest, which includes Alaska, Washington, Oregon, Wyoming, Montana, Idaho, North Dakota and South Dakota.

Regional winners compete in each of the categories at the NGB level to determine the four Airmen who will be nominated for the U.S. Air Force’s 12 Outstanding Airmen of the year.
Alaska Army National Guard’s Bison Company set to deploy to Middle East
September 30, 2023
Alaska Army National Guard 1st Sgt. Oliver Meza, Bravo Company first sergeant, shows off his unit’s patch during a deployment ceremony where family members, friends, and fellow Guardsmen came together to pay tribute to Soldiers of B Co., 1st Battalion, 297th Infantry Regiment, at the Alaska National Guard Armory on Joint Base Elmendorf-Richardson, Sept. 29, 2023.

910th Engineer Support Company constructs their skills
August 21, 2023
Alaska Army National Guard Sgt. David Kocur, a horizontal construction engineer assigned to the 910th Engineer Support Company, operates a grader to create a broad flat foundation on Joint Base Elmendorf-Richardson, Alaska, Aug. 8, 2023.

176th Wing firefighters protect Nenana from wildfires
August 21, 2023
176th Wing firefighters protect Nenana from wildfires

Alaska Army National Guard rescues two hunters after plane crashes near Merrill Pass
August 18, 2023
HH-60M Black Hawk helicopter with the Alaska Army National Guard Golf Company, 2-211th, General Support Aviation Battalion

Navy celebrates Sol Atkinson for legacy of service to country, Alaskan veterans, community
August 10, 2023
Retired U.S. Navy Chief Warrant Officer 4 Solomon Atkinson, center, is greeted by Verdie Bowen, right, the director of the Alaska Office of Veterans Affairs, and escorted by son-in-law Franklin Hayward before receiving the Alaska Governor’s Veteran Advocacy Award during a ceremony in Metlakatla, Alaska, Dec. 10, 2018.

207th Engineer Utilities Detachment retires the colors
August 8, 2023
Alaska Army National Guardsmen with the 207th Engineer Utilities Detachment salute as the national anthem plays during the unit’s deactivation ceremony at the Camp Carroll flagpole on Joint Base Elmendorf-Richardson, Alaska, Aug. 5, 2023.

Alaska National Guardsmen assist with Interior Alaska wildland fires
August 7, 2023
An Alaska Army National Guard UH-60L Black Hawk helicopter assigned to 207th Aviation Troop Command operates near Ladd Army Airfield Aug. 3., 2023 in support of wildland fire suppression across Interior Alaska. During fire suppression operations, the UH-60 employs a Bambi Bucket filled with approximately 630 gallons of water from a nearby lake. The Alaska Army National Guard deployed the UH-60 and air crew July 31, 2023 after receiving a resource request from the Alaska Division of Forestry and Fire Protection routed through the State Emergency Operations Center.

176th Air Defense Squadron surveillance technician competes in arctic triathlon
August 2, 2023
176th Air Defense Squadron surveillance technician competes in arctic triathlon

Alaska Military Youth Academy starts 22-week program
August 2, 2023
Alaska Military Youth Academy

Alaska National Guard command sergeant major soars into retirement
August 1, 2023
Command Sgt. Maj. Michael Grunst parachutes into his retirement ceremony July 21, 2023, at Camp Carroll on Joint Base Elmendorf-Richardson. Grunst joined the Alaska Army National Guard in 1989 and finished his 34-year career as the G3 operations sergeant major for the AKARNG.