An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

NEWS | May 21, 2023

Alaska's Best Warrior Competition Award Ceremony

By Staff Sgt. Katie Mazos Vega 134th Public Affairs Detachment

Alaska Army National Guard State Command Sgt. Maj. John Phlegar, announced the winners of the 2023 Alaska Army National Guard Best Warrior Competition during an awards ceremony at Camp Carroll on Joint Base Elmendorf-Richardson May 21.  Phlegar presented Army Commendations Medals to Sgt. Robert Dzabic, a CH-47 Chinook helicopter repairer with 2nd Battalion, 211th General Support Aviation Battalion, as the Noncommissioned Officer of the Year and Spc. Adam Macro, a military police Soldier from Alpha Company, 49th Missile Defense Battalion, as the Soldier of the Year. Soldiers from across Alaska participated in the four-day competition that tested the Soldiers’ physical and mental stamina, as well as their knowledge of military tactics and procedures.